Benchmark Papers in Quantitative Genetics (The Bill Hill’s List, part I)

Despite having a long time interest in evolutionary biology, I deliberately avoided papers on animal breeding and pure quantitative genetics, and I thought they were not relevant to modern evolutionary thought. As I gained more interest in mathematical models I started to read some of these classic papers, and realized that some of the issues I’m interested in (such as genetic linkage) were studied in depth by livestock breeders. Now I regret I didn’t pay more attention to them in the past. However, I have a chance to redeem myself and put some of these papers in my reading list. Which ones? Well, that’s a hard decision, but fortunately I found a list compiled by quantitative geneticist William Hill.

William G. Hill. Picture from the Genetics Society at http://www.genetics.org.uk

William (Bill) Hill was invited to contribute with a  volume to the famous “Benchmark Papers in Genetics” series by Springer. However, he came up with two volumes. I could not find any of them in the University of Essex library so I decided, for the first time, to visit the British Library. They had, indeed, both volumes. I forgot to bring some cash so I couldn’t afford to do copies. Hence, as in the old times, I grabbed a pencil and transcribed the lists of papers from both volumes. It was a hard yet rewarding task. Because most of these papers are quite old, I was confident that I should find them in JSTOR or another similar repository (and I did!).

The best bits of the books are the comments by Bill Hill himself on the papers which, obviously, I cannot reproduce here. However, just the list of papers is of great value, and I thought there may be someone else interested. So, I’ve compiled both lists and looked for PDFs and links to author’s biographies. Here’s the list of papers from volume I. The second bit will be posted soon. Hope you find it useful.

 

The Bill Hill’s List, part I

Foundations

  • Pearson K (1904) Mathematical Contributions to the Theory of Evolution – XII. Phil Trans R Soc Lond A 203:359-371. [PDF]
  • Yule GU (1906) On the Theory of Inheritance of Quantitative Compound Characters on the Basis of Mendel’s Laws – A Preliminary Note. In: Proceedings of the International Congress of Genetics. [PDF]
  • Weinberg W (1910) Further contributions to the theory of Inheritance. (English translation by K. Meyer in this compilation) [PDF NOT FOUND]
  • Fisher RA (1918) The Correlation Between Relatives on the Supposition of Mendelian Inheritance. Trans R Soc Edinburgh 52:399-433. [PDF]
  • Wright S (1921) Systems of Mating I. The Biometric Relations betweens Parent and Offspring. Genetics 6:111-123. [PDF]
  • Wright S (1921) Systems of Mating II. The Effects of Inbreeding on the Genetic Composition of a Population. Genetics 6:124-143. [PDF]
  • East EM (1910) A Mendelian Interpretation of Variation that is Apparently Continuous. Am Nat 44:65-82. [PDF]
  • Jones DF (1917) Dominance of Linked Factors as a Means of Accounting for Heterosis. Genetics 2:466-479. [PDF]

Synthesis

  • Mather K (1949) The Genetical Theory of of Continuous Variation. Hereditas 35:376-401. [PDF]
  • Wright S (1950) The Genetics of Quantitative Variability. In: Quantitative inheritance. [Google Books]

Generalizations

  • Kempthorne O (1954) The Correlation Between Relatives in a Random Mating Population. Proc R Soc London B 143:102-113. [PDF]
  • Cockerham CC (1956) Effects of Linkage on the Covariances between Relatives. Genetics 41:138-141. [PDF]
  • Willham RL (1963) The Covariance between Relatives for Characters Composed of Components Contributed by Related Individuals. Biometrics 19:18–27. [PDF NOT FOUND]
  • Robertson A (1952) The Effect of Inbreeding on the Variation Due to Recessive Genes. Genetics 37:189–207. [PDF]

Applications

  • Lush JL (1940) Intra-Sire Correlations or Regressions of Offspring on Dam as a Method of Estimating Heritability of Characteristics. Ann Proc Am Soc Anim Prod 33:293–301. [PDF]
  • Comstock RE, Robinson HF (1952) Estimation of average dominance of genes. In: Heterosis. [Google Book]
  • Griffing B (1956) A generalised treatment of the use of diallel crosses in quantitative inheritance. Heredity 10:31-50. [PDF]

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

